XM2 Graduation Summer 2019

L to R: Tom Graham, Toby Octon, Jake Mehew, Josh Hamilton, Anja Roeding (Programme Manager) and Miguel Camacho Aguilar)

On 15th July, we held a post-graduation celebration for the PGRs graduating in the summer ceremony. These included not only students from our first cohort but also students from our second cohort. Their peers, other PGRs and academic staff joined to congratulate them on their fantastic achievement.

These graduates have gone on to a variety of destinations, including both academia and industry:

Graduate thesis supervisors next destination
Miguel Camacho Aguilar Microwave Response of Finite Periodic Metal Structures  Alastair Hibbins and Roy Sambles Postdoctoral Researcher at University of Pennsylvania
Thomas Graham Underwater Acoustic Waves on Structured and Unstructured Plates Roy Sambles, Alastair Hibbins, Simon Horsley Postdoctoral Researcher at University of Sussex
Joshua Hamilton Bio-inspired Magnetic Systems: Controlled Swimming, Fluid Pumps, and Collective Behaviour  Feodor Ogrin and Peter Petrov Postdoctoral Research Fellow at QuinetiQ
Christopher King Designing non-scattering graded-index media Simon Horsley and Tom Philibin Theoretical Physicist at QinetiQ
Conor McKeever Theory and Simulation of the Microwave Response of Concentric Ferromagnetic Shells Mustafa Aziz and Feodor Ogrin Postdoctoral Researcher at University of Exeter (ICURe programme)
Jake Mehew Optoelectronic devices based on van der Waals heterostructures Saverio Russo and Monica Craciun Six months of travelling in South America
Tobias Octon Optoelectronic Properties of Two-Dimensional Molybdenum Ditelluride David Wright and Monica Craciun Customer Insight Analyst at GAIN Capital
Illia Starshynov Quantum and classical correlations of multiply scattered light Jacopo Bertolotti and Janet Anders Postdoctoral Researcher at University of Glasgow

They join fellow alumni from the CDT who graduated in Summer 2018 and Winter 2018

L to R: Alastair Hibbins (Director of CDT), Miguel Camacho Aguilar, Conor McKeever, Jake Mehew, Tom Graham and Josh Hamilton

Here are some more photos from the graduation celebration:

Skip to toolbar