All posts by Dana Finch

Innovation Radar Finalists!


The University of Exeter is a finalist for a Europe-wide competition for women-led innovation. The IMP@CT team in Camborne School of Mines and Renewable Energy is led by geologist Kathryn Moore, Senior Lecturer in Critical and Green Technology Metals. Together the team seeks to develop sustainable whole systems mining solutions for production of an increasing diversity of technology metals. A public vote will decide which finalists are shortlisted for consideration of the award.Visit the website to read more about it or to cast your vote for the university, for women in STEMM or for low-carbon sustainable futures. Congratulations to the team on being named finalists and good luck.

IMPaCT at AIMS, Aachen

The AIMS Conference “Mines of the Future” at RWTH Aachen

IMPaCT held a session at The First International Conference “Mines of the Future” at Aachen on 23 may 2018. Keynote speakers included Dr Kathryn Moore, Co-ordinator of IMPaCT, and Dominic Roberts of Mineco and host of the first test mine site in Bosnia. Links to presentations and abstracts will be added shortly. The conference was full with an international audience and many exhibition stands and posters, including from IMPaCT members. The evening Conference Dinner was held at the Town Hall in Aachen, a beautiful building with original frescoes, and we were graced with a performance of the St Barbara Miners’ Choir (see below)

Miners’ Choir perform at the Conference Dinner Party

Amela Imamovic from Mineco visits CSM

At CSM Amela Imamovic, from Bosnia, has been spending time in the mineral processing lab, under the guidance of CSM and IMP@CT staff. She has been engaged in processing samples and learning techniques to help in the lab when she returns to Bosnia next week. Her visit coincided with the arrival of the Rados XRF Ore Sorter, so she has also had the opportunity to learn about this technology. Nashlen Odiar, from Rados International has been at CSM all week, training staff and putting the ore sorter through its paces

left to right: Nashlen Odiar, Saeid Moradi, Kate Moore, Amela Imamovic, Rob Fitzpatrick, Luke Palmer