IEEE International Conference on Microwave Magnetics 2018

Please note that rooms in Holland Hall will no longer be reserved for ICMM from the 3rd June. 

If you have not yet booked accommodation, please register and book accommodation by the 3rd of June to secure accommodation in Holland Hall.  After the 3rd of June accommodation can be booked through the Event Exeter website on a first-come-first-served basis.



The IEEE International Conference on Microwave Magnetics 2018 will take place at the University of Exeter in the UK from Sunday June 24th until Wednesday June 27th. This is the sixth ICMM conference after the success of Fort Collins (USA, 2008), Boston (USA, 2010), Kaiserslautern (Germany, 2012), Sendai (Japan, 2014), and Tuscaloosa (USA, 2016). The conference will focus on new developments in all branches of fundamental and applied microwave magnetics.

Abstract submission will open from on the 5th of February, and will close on the 6th of March.

Confirmed Speakers


P. E. Wigen, Department of Physics, The Ohio State University, Columbus, USA
R. L. Stamps, Department of Physics and Astronomy, University of Manitoba, Winnipeg, Canada


J. Åkerman, Department of Physics, University of Gothenburg, School of ICT, KTH Royal Institute of Technology, Kista, and NanOsc AB, Kista, Sweden
R. E. Camley, Department of Physics and Energy Science, University of Colorado, Colorado Springs, USA
B. Flebus, Department of Physics and Astronomy, University of California, Los Angeles, USA.
T. Kampfrath, Department of Physics, Freie Universitaet Berlin, Germany
I. N. Krivorotov, Department of Physics and Astronomy, University of California, Irvine, USA
R. D. McMichael, Center for Nanoscale Science and Technology, National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), Gaithersburg, Maryland, USA
Y. Nakamura, Research Center for Advanced Science and Technology, The University of Tokyo, Japan
H. T. Nembach, JILA, University of Colorado and Quantum Electromagnetics Division, National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST), Boulder, Colorado, USA
H. Schultheiss, Division of Magnetism, Helmholtz Zentrum Dresden Rossendorf, Germany

Technical areas

  • RF, Microwave and Millimeter Wave Devices
  • High Frequency Materials and Metamaterials
  • Magnetization Dynamics and Relaxation
  •  Spin Waves and Magnonics
  • Nonlinear Phenomena
  • Spin-Torque Oscillators
  • Spintronics and Spin Wave Devices
  • RF and Microwave Integrated Devices


  • Four day conference
  • Single session (plenary, invited & contributed talks)
  • Poster session
  • Publications: IEEE Magnetics Letters

Important dates

06 March 2018: Abstract submission deadline

10 April 2018: Notification of Acceptance

11 May 2018: Early registration ends

24 June 2018 – 27 June 2018: Conference

1 August 2018: Final paper submission deadline


Prof R. J. Hicken

Department of Physics and Astronomy

University of Exeter

Stocker Road


Phone: (01392) 264153